Virginia Educational Facility Planners
Planner of the Year Award Winners

2018 Planner of the year Award Recipient

Dian Paulin A nationally-recognized expert in learning space planning and design as well as sustainability, Rob Winstead is an advocate for exceptional learning spaces that blend thoughtful design with high performance goals to deliver added value for clients and users. He is a frequent speaker at regional and national conferences and his work across the country has been recognized with numerous awards for planning, design, architecture, urbanism, and sustainability. As Principal and K12 Studio Leader at VMDO Architects, Rob is committed to a collaborative, integrated, and inclusive design process that results in customized solutions and unique learning experiences. An active member of the design community, Rob serves through organizations such as the US Green Building Council, the A+D Sustainable Design Leaders, Building Goodness Foundation, and AIA Central Virginia—where he currently serves as President.

Past planner of the year Award Winners

Click here to read about our past Planner of the Year Award winners.

  • 2018 – Mr. Rob Winstead
  • 2017 – Ms. Dian Paulin, NCIDQ, ALEP
  • 2016 – Mr. Jim McCalla, REFP
  • 2015 – POY not awarded
  • 2014 – Mr. William (Bill) Bradley, PhD, AlA, LEED AP, REFP
  • 2013 – Mr. John M. Hill, AlA, REFP, LEED AP
  • 2012 – POY not awarded
  • 2011 – Ms. Robin O'Hara
  • 2010 – POY not awarded
  • 2009 – Dr. Thomas H. DeBolt
  • 2008 – Ms. Paige Stutz
  • 2007 – Doug Westmoreland
  • 2006 – Dr. Glen Earthman
  • 2005 – Mr. Jim Copeland, AIA, REFP
  • 2004 – Mr. William T. Brown, III, AIA, REFP, LEED AP
  • 2003 – Dr. Linda LeMasters