Virginia Educational Facility Planners
REFP Designation

REFP, which stands for Recognized Educational Facility Professional, is the Association for Learning Environment's professional designation. In instituting this mark of distinction for educational facility planners, A4LE recognizes the successful achievements and continual professional development efforts of qualified educational facility planners, designers and builders. Additionally, this program serves as a vehicle to raise public awareness about the educational facilities profession, providing REFP members an opportunity to be respected not only by their peers on a professional level but also by members of their communities. Visit the A4LE website to learn more about the REFP credential.

Current designees in the Commonwealth are listed below:

Virginia REFP Designees

Mr. David L. Boddy, AIA, REFP
Educational Planner
Ballou, Justice and Upton Architects
2402 North Parham Road
Richmond VA 23229
Phone: 804.270.0909
Fax: 804.346.3301
Email: 2boddy@comcast.net

Dr. William S. Bradley, LEED, AIA, REFP
Managing Principal  
SHW Group LLP
609 East Market Street, Suite 202
Charlottesville VA 22902
Phone 434.295.8200
Fax 434.295.8601
Email: bbradley@shwgroup.com

Mr. William T. Brown III, AIA, REFP, LEED AP
President/CEO
Southeast Region
Beery Rio & Associates
8001 Braddock Road, 4th Floor
Springfield VA 22151
Phone: 703.426.9057
Fax: 703.426.9280
Email: bbrown@beeryrio.com

Mr. David Burnett, REFP
Senior Associate
Moseley Architects
3200 Norfolk Street
Richmond VA 23230
Phone: 804.794.7555
Fax: 804.355.5690
Email: dburnett@moseleyarchitects.com

Ms. Shawnea Carter
408 Mount Vernon Ave
Portsmouth, VA 23707
Phone: 757.966.5504
Email: shawnea@i4a.com

Mr. Clay C. Dills, AIA, LEED AP, REFP
Principal
Dills Architects
1432 North Great Neck Road #204
Virginia Beach, VA, 23454
Phone: 757.496.4926
Fax: 757.496.5037
Email: cdills@dillsarchitects.com

Mr. Paul Falkenbury, REFP
Principal
Samaha Associates P.C.
9990 Fairfax Blvd., Suite 350
Fairfax VA 22030-1720
Phone: 703.691.3311
Fax: 703.691.3316
Email: phf@samaha-arch.com

Mr. John Hill, AIA, REFP
Chief Executive Officer
Grimm & Parker Architects
1355 Beverly Road, Suite 105
McLean VA 22101
Phone: 703.903.9100
Fax: 703.903.9755
Email: jhill@gparch.com

Mr. Stephen D. Hostetler, P.Eng, REFP
Principal
Timmons Group
1001 Boulders Parkway, Suite 300
Richmond VA 23225
Phone: 804.200.6500
Fax: 804.560.1016
Email: steve.hostetler@timmons.com

Ms. Joanne Huebner, REFP
Vice President
Eperitus
1840 West Broad Street, Suite 300
Richmond, VA 23220
Phone: 804.344.8411
Fax: 804.344.8412
Email: jhuebner@eperitus.com

Mr. George Kacan, AIA, REFP, LEED AP
Executive Director
Fanning/Howey Associates, Inc.
210 North Lee Street, Suite 208
Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: 703.519.9822
Fax: 703.519.9823
Email: gkacan@fhai.com

Mr. William B. Laughlin, AIA, REFP
Vice President
Mosely Architects, P.C.
50 West Market Street
Harrisonburg VA 22801
Phone: 540.434.1346
Fax: 540.434.7982
Email: blaughlin@moseleyarchitects.com

Mr. John B. Maddux, Jr., REFP
President
Rodriguez Ripley Maddux Motley
129 West Virginia Beach Blvd.
Norfolk VA 23510
Phone: 757.622.2828
Fax: 757.622.8402
Email: jmaddux@rrmm.net

Mr. James M. McCalla, AIA , REFP
Vice President
Moseley Architects
601 Southlake Boulevard
Richmond VA 23236
Phone: 804.794.7555
Fax: 804.379.8660
Email: jmccalla@moseleyarchitects.com

Mr. Benjamin S. Motley, REFP
Principal - Senior Vice President
Rodriguez Ripley Maddux Motley
28 Church Avenue
Roanoke VA 24011
Phone: 540.344.1212
Fax: 540.344.1321
Email: bmotley@rrmm.net

Mr. Charles D. Piper, AIA, REFP
Principal
BCWH Architects, Inc
1840 West Broad Street, Suite 400
Richmond VA 23220 .
Phone: 804.788.4774
Fax: 804.788.0986
Email: cpiper@bcwh.com

Mr. Jeffrey Platenberg , REFP
Asst. Superintendent for Support Services
Loudoun County Public Schools
21000 Education Court, Suite 206
Ashburn VA 20148
Phone: 571.252.1385
Fax: 571.252.1168
Email: jeffrey.platenberg@loudoun.k12.va.us

Mr. Roger D. Richardson, AIA, REFP
Principal
BCWH Architects, Inc.
1840 West Broad Street, Suite 400
Richmond VA 23220
Phone: 804.788.4774
Fax: 804.788.0986
Email: rrichardson@bcwh.com

Dr. Cynthia Richardson , REFP
Director of Planning
Chesterfield County Public Schools
PO Box 10
Chesterfield VA 23832
Phone: 804.748.1559
Fax: 804.796.7179
Email: Cynthia_O_Richardson@ccpsnet.net

Mr. C. Michael Ross, AIA, REFP
Vice President/Principal
HBA Architecture & Interior Design Inc.
HBA Architecture & Interior Design, Inc.
One Columbus Center, Suite 1000
Phone: 757.490.9408
Email: miker@hbaonline.com

Mr. Semon S. Samaha, REFP, AIA
President
Samaha Associates P.C.
9990 Fairfax Blvd., Suite 350
Fairfax VA 22030-1720
Phone: 703.691.3311
Fax: 703.691.3316
Email: sss@samaha-arch.com

Ms. Leslie Sluger, AIA, REFP
Principal
Beery Rio Architects
8001 Braddock Road, 4th Floor
Springfield VA 22151
Phone: 703.426.9057
Fax: 703.426.9280
Email: lsluger@beeryrio.com

Ms. J. Paige Stutz, REFP
Program Administrator for Planning & Development
Chesapeake Public Schools
369 South Battlefield Blvd.
Chesapeake VA 23322
Phone: 757.547.0013
Fax: 757.547.0142
Email: Stutzjpa@cps.k12.va.us

Mr. James D. Thorsen Jr., REFP
Director of Facilities & Planning
Suffolk Public Schools
1507 Freeney Avenue
Suffolk VA 23434
Phone: 757.934.6206
Fax: 757.925.5703
Email: james.thorsen@sps.k12.va.us

Mr. Charles W. Tilley, AIA, LEED AP, REFP
Principal
BCWH Architects, Inc.
1840 West Broad Street, Suite 400
Richmond VA 23220
Phone: 804.788.4774
Fax: 804.788.0986
Email: ctilley@bcwh.com

Mr. Billy Upton, REFP, AIA
President
Ballou, Justice and Upton Architects
2402 North Parham Road
Richmond VA 23229
Phone: 804.270.0909
Fax: 804.346.3301
Email: bupton@bjuarchitects.com

Mr. Chris Venable, REFP
Senior Associate
Spectrum Design P.C.
10 Church Avenue, SE
Roanoke VA 24011
Phone: 540.342.6001
Fax: 540.342.6055
Email: cvenable@spectrumpc.com

Mr. Douglas Westmoreland, AIA, REFP
Moseley Architects
601 Southlake Boulevard
Richmond VA 23236
Phone: 804.794.7555
Fax: 804.379-8660
Email: dwestmoreland@moseleyarchitects.com

Dr. Lenard Wright, REFP
Director of New Construction
Chesapeake Public Schools
369 South Battlefield Blvd.
Chesapeake VA 23322
Phone:  757.547.0013
Fax:  757.547.0142
Email: len.wright@cpschools.com

Additional Information

Visit the A4LE website to learn more about the REFP credential.

If you are educational planner, designer or builder interested in becoming a Recognized Educational Facility Professional you can view the REFP Application Form and review the requirements for maintaining the credential on-line.